Monthly Archives: F Y

Enjoyable Burundi

Burundi is a peaceful country with lots of curious people gathering by the roads as we cycle. We wave at them with one hand while trying to control our bikes as the country is densely populated on the shores. The … Continue reading

Posted in Burundi | 1 Comment

Hot Burundi

Burundi is a small country deep in the heart of Africa. Not much is known about Burundi apart from the civil war of the 90′s. We are hoping to change that by having positive experiences about the country. But before … Continue reading

Posted in Burundi | Leave a comment

Western Tanzania – a dusty experience

Heading towards Western Tanzania is a dusty affair.It lacks the touristic features that would make one visit it. The wind blows dust particles towards our eyes and nostrils. We are mummified in red dust and we have to cover our … Continue reading

Posted in Tansania | Leave a comment

A little bit of humor is allowed

HIV/AIDS  is no laughing matter but the Ministry of Health in conjunction with partner organizations have come up with a humorous way of talking about it. The billboard poster reads, ” You cannot know the HIV status by just looking. … Continue reading

Posted in Tansania | Leave a comment

Slow motion

Entering Tanzania was mentally and physically exhausting as we had to climb to an altitude of 1800 metres as we headed towards the town of Mbeya. Along the road we saw banana and tea plantations and as we climbed higher … Continue reading

Posted in Tansania | Leave a comment

Can you show us the way?

When we think back to the time that we spent in Malawi we always remember the children as they were always willing to show us the direction. Here we were on Lake Malawi and asked the children where Tanzania was … Continue reading

Posted in Malawi | Leave a comment

A walk at the beach

When the Fishermen leave for the lake the beach belongs to these children. They run around us and shout ‘Azungu, Azungu’, which means white person. It’s like a greeting and we are always ready to give back a reply. We … Continue reading

Posted in Malawi | Leave a comment

Back home at Lake Malawi

”Coming back home to lake Malawi is like coming back home”, I tell the interested locals about my crossing border experience of 2009. We arrived in Monkey Bay and we decided to hold a small party to mark the second … Continue reading

Posted in Malawi | Leave a comment

Hippo, hipp, Hurra!

We are finally in Malawi and this is a sweet memory for me as I was in Malawi during Crossing Borders 1 in 2009 though I did not cycle in the south of Malawi. The’ warm heart of Africa ‘ … Continue reading

Posted in Malawi | Leave a comment

African kids

Children’s faces always brighten our days. They are like torches in the dark and they always illuminate the road as we cycle. These three sisters were patient enough to let us take their pictures. Compared to Germany which has an … Continue reading

Posted in Mozambik | Leave a comment

Monatsarchive: F Y

Ein einziger Genuss!

Haben wir es doch geahnt: Burundi ist friedlich und die Bewohner herzlich. “Bonjour! Good morning! Habari gani!” – ob Franzoesisch, Kisuaheli oder Englisch: wir werden entlang des Weges ununterbrochen in allen drei Sprachen begruesst. Burundi ist am Tanganyika-See dicht besiedelt, … Weiterlesen

Veröffentlicht unter Burundi | 1 Kommentar

Heiss auf/in Burundi

Wir erreichen nach unserer ersten Tansania-Etappe Burundi, den kleinen Staat im Herzen Afrikas. Wir sind richtig ‘heiss’ auf das kleine Land, denn was weiss man schon ueber Burundi? Verbindet man damit nicht sofort das Wort ‘Buergerkrieg’? Und ist das gerecht? … Weiterlesen

Veröffentlicht unter Burundi | Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

West-Tansania, das Staubland

Wir nehmen West-Tansania in Angriff – ein nahezu weisser Fleck des Tourismus. Die Strassen sind meisst unfassbar staubig, sodass ein Atemschutz unerlaesslich ist, denn da es auch windig ist, weht nahezu permanent Staub in unsere Atemwege. Doch die weite Landschaft … Weiterlesen

Veröffentlicht unter Tansania | Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Man kann’s auch mal mit Humor nehmen

Natuerlich ist die Epidemie AIDS ein riesiges Problem und bietet eigentlich keinen Grund, witzig zu sein. Wirklich nicht? Hilfsorganisationen haben sich entschlossen, in Tansania Aufklaerungskampagnen auch mal auf die humorvolle Art anzugehen: “Man kann den HIV-Status nicht durch blosses Hinschauen … Weiterlesen

Veröffentlicht unter Tansania | Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Im Schneckentempo ins bergige Tansania

Es ist kein Zuckerschlecken, das Hinaufradeln ins bergige Tansania. Vielmehr schlecken wir das Salz von unserer Haut ab, denn literweise stroemt Koerperschweiss aus unseren Poren. An diese Etappe, die ich ja auch 2009 mit Immanuel geradelt bin, erinnere ich mich … Weiterlesen

Veröffentlicht unter Tansania | Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Wo geht’s lang?

Denken wir an Malawi zurueck, denken wir an die vielen Kids, die wir getroffen haben. Wir fragen sie stets nach dem Weg. “Sagt mal Kids, wir brauchen eure Hilfe. Wo liegt Tansania, denn da wollen wir hin?” “Dort, auf der … Weiterlesen

Veröffentlicht unter Malawi | Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Strandspaziergaenge

Gute Laune herrscht in den Abendstunden am Malawisee bei den Kids. Die Fischer sind losgezogen auf den See, der Strand gehoert nun komplett ihnen! Sie flippen herum und freuen sich ueber das Treffen mit uns! Wieder koennen wir uns nicht … Weiterlesen

Veröffentlicht unter Malawi | Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Am Malawi-See

“Coming back to the Malawi-Lake is like coming back Home!”, sage ich zu den Einheimischen, die am Malawi-See wohnen. Tatsaechlich fuehlt es sich schoen an, wieder hierzusein, hier am See, an dem ich schon 2009 entlanggeradelt bin. Die Stimmung ist … Weiterlesen

Veröffentlicht unter Malawi | Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Hippo, hipp, Hurra!

Wir freuen uns, als wir endlich in Malawi einradeln, dem “warm heart of Africa”, dem “warmen Herzen Afrikas” also. Die Menschen sind unglaublich freundlich! Fuer mich ist es schoen, wieder hierzusein. Zur Erinnerung: auch in 2009 auf der “grenzerfahrungen-Expedition I” … Weiterlesen

Veröffentlicht unter Malawi | Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

Kinder, Kinder!!

Wir spueren taeglich, dass Mosambik ein kinderreiches afrikanisches Land ist. Welch ein Kontrast zu unserer Heimat Deutschland, wo wir unter “Kinderarmut” leiden und unsere Gesellschaft altert. Die Kleinen kommen oft zu uns – ebenso wie die Grossen durch Neugier getrieben. … Weiterlesen

Veröffentlicht unter Mosambik | Hinterlasse einen Kommentar